DUI Laws

DUI Laws in Tennessee are strict and if convicted, it remains on your record for life.

If your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) result was 0.08% or higher, you need a lawyer.
Having a DUI conviction can affect many areas of your life and future, such as a background check for employment, disclosure of criminal conviction, and your auto insurance rates will increase, in addition you will have to file a SR-22 form and keep in place for one year after a DUI conviction, this type of insurance can be costly.

Wilson & Henegar Law Office has experienced DUI attorneys who can help with driver’s license suspension, defend your DUI case, and frequently have minimized the DUI charge and/or the penalties. Know your state's DUI Laws before you think about driving.


First Tennessee DUI Offense

A Tennessee drunk driving conviction may include:

  • Jail – 48 Hours up to 11 Months
  • Fine – From $350 to $1,500
  • License Suspension – 1 Year or Restricted License w/SR-22
  • Ignition Interlock Device required if:
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above .15
  • Passenger Under 18 in Vehicle
  • Implied Consent / Test Refusal
Second Tennessee DUI Offense

A second drunk driving conviction may include:

  • Jail – 45 Days up to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $600 to $3,500
  • License Suspension – 2 Years
  • Ignition Interlock Device required if:
  • 6 Months (If it is within 5 years of previous DUI )
  • Blood Alcohol Content Above .15
  • Passenger Under 18 in Vehicle
  • Implied Consent / Test Refusal

Contact us if you have questions about DUI Laws in Tennessee.

Respect of the client, honesty and
competence,
time-tested

other penalties

  • Litter Pick-Up for 3 Eight-hour Shifts
  • DUI School Program
  • Drug and Treatment Assessment
  • Vehicle – Subject to Seizure / Forfeiture
  • Child Endangerment Penalties(Passenger under 18)